You're at the top of the list, but...

Discussion in 'Secondary Education' started by loss4words, Jun 24, 2011.

1. loss4words

loss4words Rookie

Jun 24, 2011

you are too educated & I'm concerned... This is the comment from my most recent job interview & has been a common thread since I began teaching. I have an advanced degree in an actual subject, not education, & find more resistance because of it than I could have ever imagined (no offense to the ed majors but I haven't yet been treated very well by them). I have contract taught for 2 years & earned teacher of the year my 2nd, but chose to leave my old district, which was run by morons. Never have problems with students & the level of learning is just unreal & I love teaching. I'm losing it. I subbed 2 years, did my internship, spent a fortune on that joke that's called teacher credentialling, passed all the tests, jumped through all the hoops, & still, not enough to convince these people I'm in it, the real deal, & **** good at it. What do you want? I feel as if I'm being discriminated against because I busted my butt in something else, then found teaching, & I'm an outsider! What do I have to do in this industry to find admin folks who aren't stuck in the little strange world of "education" that, as far as I can tell, is worried more about politics, money & butt-kissing, than actually educating. Imagine someone in the education world actually saying the words, "You're at the top of the list but my concern is that you have too much education & will be hesitant to follow different procedures." In other words, I get it, teaching isn't that hard...if you constantly keep your students as the priority...but I need to remove parts of my brain apparently so I can sit in these stupid meetings & say, hmm, amazing, students learn in different ways; my god! My brain literally soiled itself when this guy said I'm too educated. Someone help me. Tell me I'm not going insane. Tell me someone is out there in charge of these