Your thoughts on teachers who teach...

Discussion in 'General Education' started by GTB4GT, Mar 15, 2012.

1. GTB4GT

GTB4GT Cohort

Mar 15, 2012

other teachers. Although I am new to this profession, I have heard maybe 8 - 10 speakers at PD days lecture and speak on the art and science of teaching. My peers, judging from their comments, mostly tend to shrug off what they have to say and go back to what works best for them.I too wonder about their credentials (although all of them claim to be former teachers) - it's a big difference between teaching adults in 4 -8 hour stints vs. being in a class with 20 - 30 young people for an entire year. I also assume it may be a bit easier at the end of the day but i tend to be skeptical by nature.

For you with more experience, when you attend a PD day and listen to a speaker, how do you differentiate the wheat from the chaff so to speak (or as we used to say, the flycrap from the pepper)? This may be an odd question but it's one I have reflected on after every PD day. Interested in any thoughts or comments you may have on this topic.

3. KinderCowgirl

KinderCowgirl Phenom

Mar 15, 2012

I've been to some that were fabulous and inspiring, but most of what I attend tends to be either ideas that I can't even adapt to my kiddos or things I'm already doing. If I'm going to leave my rugrats with a sub or give up a Saturday I want it to be worthwhile--I want some fresh ideas! I attended one recently where they had groups of tables each read a paragraph aloud for about 6 pages of material-I just don't think that's an effective technique. At the very least they should be modeling things we could use in our classrooms.

Easier to teach or not, I don't know. It bothers me how some of the adults act in those sessions-I don't know if I'd have the patience for it. Give me my 5-year olds anytime! ;)

4. Mathemagician

Mathemagician Groupie

Mar 15, 2012