Your summer responsibilities

Discussion in 'General Education' started by muxziem, Apr 11, 2016.

1. muxziem

muxziem Rookie

Apr 11, 2016

I am a pre-service teacher. I have been accepted into two different master's/credential programs, and I will be entering one of them this fall. I am at the present trying to gather more information about the teaching profession.

Among the things about which I am curious is what I can expect over the summer. What do you do over the summer? What does your school or your district require you to do? How much time do you spend working, and how much time do you get to yourself? I am well aware that it is definitely a myth that teachers get summers off, but I am very interested in knowing what I can expect the summer months to hold for me.

3. Linguist92021

Linguist92021 Phenom

Apr 12, 2016

Oh no, we get summers off. I don't think it's a myth.
    We are not required to do anything other than show up usually 2 days before school starts for meetings and working in the classroom (paid) That's it.
    We can go in to work or clean or organize if we want most of the days during the summer, sometimes there are training we can sign up for (2 years ago i did that for 2 training, 3 days each, it was good extra money). We can sign up for summer school, I actually like subbing at the juvenile hall, easy money easy work, I can work whenever I want to, which is 2-3 days / week. This way I still have lots of free time but I also make extra money.
    But all this is optional, nothing is required.

otterpop likes this.
  4. swansong1

swansong1 Virtuoso

Apr 12, 2016

I agree. Summers are yours. Many teachers use the summer for optional professional development, teaching summer school or development courses, traveling, etc. However, I think a great many teachers work a second job in the summer to make ends meet.

5. MrsC

MrsC Multitudinous

Apr 12, 2016