Your Opinions Please!

Discussion in 'Job Seekers' started by mary2122, Feb 9, 2009.

1. mary2122

mary2122 Rookie

Feb 9, 2009

I am a recent graduate with my Elementary Teaching Degree. However, my certification is pending. I believe it will take a few months so I can't get a teaching job at this time. Also, in my area, many schools if not ALL schools are laying off teachers and going on hiring freezes. I have been jobless for 2 months and sending out my resume like crazy. Now it seems like 4 jobs want me and i need to make a decision. My concern is...two of these positions are not in the elementary field however the pay is good. I am in a rut right now because I am 23 years old and in 90,000 in debt because I was responsible for 5 years of tuition. Also I have a car payment and few other smaller bills. Paying these bills are becoming impossible. So here are the candidates.

2 Preschool teacher positions: Full time, the pay is both around 500 a week. Its in the field of teaching so thats a perk.

2 Secretary/Receptionist jobs. One of them is 600 a week and the other is 1000 a week! the job that pays 1000 would be amazing when it came to bills however it is out of the teaching field.

So to summarize everything...do you suggest I take the job in the field and possibly work some weekends in order to meet my bills or to take the unrelated one until the teaching field opens up a bit more. Helllp :)

3. ScienceGeek

ScienceGeek Rookie

Feb 9, 2009

Go for the job that makes you happy! Teaching I feel is more rewarding and it's what you went to school for. The secretary position might start higher, but I don't think you should base your choice solely on money.

4. smalltowngal

smalltowngal Multitudinous

Feb 9, 2009

If your goal is to get a teaching job in a school district, then I would go for the preschool positions. This gives you experience in teaching that will stand out when you go to apply for other teaching jobs.

5. KrazyKay

KrazyKay Rookie

Feb 9, 2009