Your favorite children's books and why??

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by alielizadubois, Sep 1, 2007.

1. alielizadubois

alielizadubois Companion

Sep 1, 2007

I am an ESL teacher in New York City. I teach ELLs in grades 3-5. I am looking for some great books to add to my library/collection that are age and level appropriate for children ages 8-12 who range in English ability from early beginner to practically proficient.

I am interested in easy yet interesting chapter books, great age appropriate picture books, multicultural stories and authors, wonderful non-fiction, books that my children from around the world can relate to .... basically anything!

Suggest away!

Thanks!!!

3. alielizadubois

alielizadubois Companion

Sep 2, 2007

Nobody has anything to share??

4. missred4190

missred4190 Comrade

Sep 2, 2007

I don't have much of a collection of books for these grade levels, unfortunately. Let me look through my library. I don't know if what I come up with will help you out, but I can give you some suggestions.

5. knitchic

knitchic Rookie

Sep 3, 2007

I really love Bob Graham's picture books, including "Max" "Let's get a Pup", and "Queenie". His illustrations show families outside the norm, and kids of all ages really love the stories.

6. alielizadubois

alielizadubois Companion

Sep 3, 2007

Thank you both.

I hope people aren't misinterpreting my question. I don't NEED the books to be multicultural stories, just suggestions would be appreciated. What I really want to know is what everyone's favorite chapter/picture books are for this grade level.

Thanks!

7. lcluigs03

lcluigs03 Cohort

Sep 3, 2007

for picture books, you can't go wrong with David Shannon. i LOVE everything he does. "bad case of stripes" is one i pull out every year to show that we are different from each other and all like different things.