Your Best Classroom Management Techniques

Discussion in 'General Education' started by firstgradeteach, Oct 8, 2007.

1. firstgradeteach

firstgradeteach Comrade

Oct 8, 2007

Hi! I posted this on the first grade forum but though I'd try here too.
    I am a second year teacher and looking for suggestions for your BEST ideas!
    So far I love these ideas and have used them:
    students filing completed school/homework under names.
    mystery sticks for behavior.

I also use MOOSE notebooks which are okay... but I'm not sure if I'm using them correctly.

I wanted to know if anyone has any great tricks or ideas to share!

Thanks!!!!! :)

3. KLily21

KLily21 Companion

Oct 8, 2007

What are MOOSE notebooks and mystery sticks?

4. czacza

czacza Multitudinous

Oct 8, 2007

marble jars for classroom behavior

different colored folders for each subject (everyone has blue for writing, yellow for spelling so you know students have the right folder out!!)

take one, leave one basket for pencils (no annoying sharpening noise!!)

5. firstgradeteach

firstgradeteach Comrade

Oct 8, 2007

Moose notebooks are a way to organize the things that you need to send home on a weekly basis. I think the letters stand for Management of Organizational Skills Everyday. Each student has a notebook. In it they have a folder with one side labeled keep at home and the other being back to school. They organize papers accordingly. I also have a zip lock bag (cheaper than buying pencil pouches) that they keep their sight word ring in. They also have two clear sleeves. One has a calendar which they color their behavior color for the day. They also have a DRA graph that they color the level they are currently reading. These go h ome every night and come back. I just started them this year.