your age when you first started teaching

Discussion in 'Secondary Education' started by dodgerblues, Sep 24, 2009.

1. dodgerblues

dodgerblues Rookie

Sep 24, 2009

how old were you guys when you first started teaching secondary education? did you feel that a young age could is a big factor in how the class perceives you? i only ask because i could potentially get my credential and start teaching while i'm still 22, and it sounds absolutely bizarre!

3. Emily Bronte

Emily Bronte Groupie

Sep 24, 2009

24. I suppose it did, just because I was asked often...how old are you? I didn't stew over it. If you are strong at what you do, you'll be fine...i.e. management.

4. Ron6103

Ron6103 Habitué

Sep 24, 2009

I actually first started at 21... I graduated college a year early, and began teaching high school. Thankfully, I looked a bit older, and while my age WAS questioned, I never told the students. My friends on the faculty knew, but never students. Most assumed I was in my mid twenties.

As for teaching high school while being young... it's tricky, but you need to be firm and establish yourself as the authority in the room. The kids will try to walk all over you. Don't let them.

5. Caesar753

Caesar753 Multitudinous

Sep 24, 2009

I was 26 when I started teaching high school. I was 22 when I started teaching college.

6. mrs.et

mrs.et Rookie

Sep 24, 2009

Hello! This is my first post here, but one of the things I am interested in. I am about to be 28, with a few more years left of school. I will be 31 when I am finished with everything and hopefully teaching high school. I feel so old sometimes, but I am just trying to keep my eyes on the prize.

7. dodgerblues

dodgerblues Rookie

Sep 24, 2009

haha, 31 isn't old at all. i was just curious because i've personally never had a *young* teacher (even for subs), so i've always wondered how they'd do in a classroom setting.

8. jojo808

jojo808 Comrade

Sep 25, 2009

I was 35!

9. Aliceacc

Aliceacc Multitudinous