You didn't hear it from me...

Discussion in 'General Education' started by Jessegirl, Sep 15, 2013.

1. Jessegirl

Jessegirl Rookie

Sep 15, 2013

I was talking to a friend I graduated with. She works in a different district than I do, but we have a similar policy. I said "I have to go to polish off my plans". Some back and further. She outright said "I don't make plans any more". I asked her if her principal ever caught her or almost caught her. She said he doesn't bother to check. According to her, it's well known a lot of people don't make lps in her school. It's a freely said thing and no one is tattling.

Maybe I'm bad, or a bit jelly, but I'd be tattling. If you worked in a school where lesson plans weren't checked and a cowork outright admitted in front of a large group they haven't done any plans for the year and won't, would you keep your mouth shut?

Also, if you were in this position would you bother to make plan? I would, because with my luck I would get caught! LOL

3. gr3teacher

gr3teacher Phenom

Sep 15, 2013

I don't make plans because I'm afraid of getting my hand slapped for not having them. I make plans because they make me a better teacher. It's hard to imagine that your friend is as good a teacher as she would be if she did write plans, and ultimately her kids will suffer for it. Sounds like it's the administration that is dropping the ball here.

4. Go Blue!

Go Blue! Connoisseur

Sep 15, 2013

At my previous school, no one checked for LPs and I stopped writing them in October once I realized this. Admin said we should have one available if someone observed our classroom but most people never wrote lesson plans and it was no secret. I think writing LPs are a waste of precious time.