You did great but, we had to go with someone with more experience...

Discussion in 'Job Seekers' started by ShellBell1029, Oct 27, 2009.

1. ShellBell1029

ShellBell1029 New Member

Oct 27, 2009

This is the 3rd time I've heard this after an interview. All my feedback is great, I interview well, but they choose someone with more experience. So how do I get said experience if no one will give me a chance? I'm just discouraged today...

3. vsimpkins

vsimpkins Comrade

Oct 27, 2009

I've had interviews like that and I have 10 years experience. I'm still seeking a job.

4. Blue

Blue Aficionado

Oct 27, 2009

Shell, you will hear that comment even if you have 30 years of experience, wrote the textbook, and have a letter of recommendation from the Pres of the US.

5. Kangaroo22

Kangaroo22 Virtuoso

Oct 28, 2009

I'm sorry, Shell.

6. KateL

KateL Habitué

Oct 28, 2009

That's really all they can tell you, even if it's not true. Anything else (e.g., we hired the superintendent's niece instead) might get them sued.

Do you actually call the interviewers and ask for feedback? I don't think I'd have the guts to do that.

7. flutetoot

flutetoot Companion

Oct 28, 2009

I've heard that same thing many times...in fact, just last week I heard it again :p

I actually have tried to contact the interviewers for feedback (esp. if they have offered) - usually, I never can get in contact with them. I leave voicemails, but no answer back. I actually did get feedback once from an AP - he said the interview went very well, I was very qualified, made a strong impression, but....they went with someone who had more experience :woot:

8. smalltowngal

smalltowngal Multitudinous

Oct 28, 2009

I think many times, this phrase is a fallback when they've hired someone who knew the right person/people.

9. ShellBell1029

ShellBell1029 New Member

Oct 29, 2009