Yikes! CSET Math

Discussion in 'Single Subject Tests' started by DancingBear, Dec 19, 2006.

1. DancingBear

DancingBear Rookie

Dec 19, 2006

I'm freaking out! I just registered for the CSET Math Subtest 1 for January 20, and now it is very real that I have a month to cram for it! I've been planning on this for months and I started studying in October, little bits a time, but now I need to really kick it into high gear! It's a good thing that I'm on vacation for a couple of weeks. I'm a non-math major who last studied math about 10 years go in college, so I've got a lot of work to do. I will probably be on here with all sorts of questions over the next few weeks!

3. emmett14

emmett14 Rookie

Dec 19, 2006

CSET math

It is not so bad. Just find a pre-calculus book and do all of the problems. Don't worry about the abstract algebra stuff - it is only a small part of the test. I passed the test the first time and I still don't know what a "ring" is!

Caroline

4. UCLACareerChngr

UCLACareerChngr Comrade

Dec 19, 2006

I would say don't freak out, but don't think it is simple either. A healthy dose of anxiety is probably sound, as long as it prompts you to study more and not procrastinate. I was in your situation as well...crammed for approximately 6 weeks about 10-15 hours the first couple of weeks and then about 20 hours per week for the last month.

Good luck!

5. slywilcox

slywilcox New Member

Dec 21, 2006

You took a very good first step in only attempting 1 test at a time. It is how I approached my tests and was successful. I treated them like finals and prepared accordingly. Many math books and practice are the key.

6. Teacher2007

Teacher2007 Rookie

Dec 25, 2006

Dancing Bear,