Year long leave replacement salary

Discussion in 'Job Seekers' started by LMichele, Aug 12, 2011.

1. LMichele

LMichele Cohort

Aug 12, 2011

Does anyone know if you're put into a year long leave replacement position what the pay is? I know by me that up until a certain amount of days you get paid per diem and then it switches to a contracted salary, but I am assuming for a year long position you would just get the contracted salary? Also, do they have to pay you as a leave what you're entitled to on the salary scale according to how many credits you have past your degree?

I'm asking because I interviewed for multiple positions within a district this past week, many of them being year long leave replacement positions. Many of the other candidates were excessed from their jobs & in addition to make years experienced, they were receiving top salary based on their degree & credits beyond that. I'm wondering if because I'm a newer teacher I would have an edge over them for the leave replacement positions because for a year the district could save $20,000+ by hiring me.

TIA

3. MsMar

MsMar Fanatic

Aug 12, 2011

Around here for a full year position you'd get regular teaching salary from the get-go, no need to do any days as at a sub rate. As far as what steps, each district has their own rules but you are definitely able to start someone at step one even if the person has many years from another district. Then it's up to the person being offered the job to decide if he/she wants the job enough to take the pay cut.