Yard Duty for Special Ed Teachers?

Discussion in 'Special Education' started by Ms. I, Sep 12, 2008.

1. Ms. I

Ms. I Maven

Sep 12, 2008

Just out of curiosity, do you special ed teachers hv to do any kind of yard or bus duty bef or after school? Many times, special ed teachers are exempt from this, but when I was a special ed teacher for a yr, everyone signed up for a certain duty at the beginning of the yr & that person did their duty EVERY SINGLE DAY till the last day. They didn't even hv teachers alternate every other wk or so. If I couldn't do it due to an IEP mtg, I had to find someone to switch duties w/.

3. JaimeMarie

JaimeMarie Moderator

Sep 12, 2008

The special ed teachers at my school have duty. They have to cover recess. Teacher's cover lunch duty.

4. Zelda~*

Zelda~* Devotee

Sep 12, 2008

I have recess duty every day. Mainly to ensure my ED kiddos are safe.

Actually, I get no breaks. I go to specials and eat lunch with them too.

5. Rockys_Mom

Rockys_Mom Rookie

Sep 12, 2008

At my previous high school I had a daily duty, which was a pain to be honest. At my current school, duties are voluntary, but this is a major negotiating sticking point for our contract. Especially for spec ed, who like zelda said, usually wind up without a break anyways.

6. MrsC

MrsC Multitudinous

Sep 12, 2008

All of our teachers have 60 minutes of supervision duty a week.

7. inhisgrip20

inhisgrip20 Comrade

Sep 12, 2008

So far, in 4 years, I haven't been given any duties, nor have my parapros. My paras and I have to meet my students at their bus every morning (3 are in wheelchairs), help them eat breakfast, and help them to the room, so morning duty would not be practical for me. And I've always just managed to skate by without having to do afternoon duty. :)

8. inhisgrip20

inhisgrip20 Comrade

Sep 12, 2008