Writing

Discussion in 'Early Childhood Education Archives' started by imelda, Mar 28, 2005.

1. imelda

imelda Rookie

Mar 28, 2005

I work as a Foundation stage teacher in England Ages 3 - 5 and am looking for some ideas to encourage my 4-5 year olds to write or to help them improve their writing. I have 5 new English speaking children and 25 others.

3. Danyiel

Danyiel Rookie

Mar 28, 2005

Hi Imelda :)

I'm not sure specifically what you are trying to encourage your children to write, but if it is something basic like the letters of the alphabet or practicing writing their names, one idea that I used with a former Preschool (3 & 4 year olds) class I taught seemed to work very well, and really kept their interest.

I used index cards and printed each letter of the alphabet on different cards and then laminated them. You can also use clear contact paper, it works just as well and is a bit cheaper than laminate. I then went out and bought both dry erase crayons and markers (you can find them in most office supply stores) that the children could use to trace over the letters with and then erase with either a tissue or paper towel. We only used uppercase letters because they would be working on upper and lowercase letters in Pre-K the following year, but you can adapt this according to what you want them to learn.

I also made name cards for each child to help them practice writing their names and did the same thing. This activity was set up in the Writing Center, usually 3 or 4 children at a time, and we would let the children rotate centers to make sure that everyone would get to use them. The children loved this activity, and they were writing their names and alphabet letters in no time.

Hope this helped, and good luck :)

4. imelda

imelda Rookie

Mar 29, 2005