Writing

Discussion in 'Sixth Grade' started by mopar, Oct 22, 2010.

1. mopar

mopar Multitudinous

Oct 22, 2010

Do you use a writer's workshop approach or assign the topics and have specific due dates?

I have gone between the two for years and can't seem to figure out a great match. I have some great writers and some very developing writers-so I don't want to hold the others up, but I also need them to practice different genres of writing to prepare them for Middle School and beyond.

Also, if you do provide a time line for the students, how long do you generally allow for a piece from brainstorming to final copy? Do you send any or all of it home?

3. NYTeacher83

NYTeacher83 Rookie

Dec 28, 2010

Hi Mopar. This is my first year teaching 6th grade writing. Before this, I taught 3 years in 4th grade. My class mainly follows the Writing Workshop method, but I do have genre specific pieces I teach.

Here's what my 42 minute period looks like:
    5 minutes - grammar warm-up/bell ringer
    10-15 minutes - Mini-lesson on specific topic
    15 minutes of independent worktime, where I conference with students to see their progress
    5-10 minutes - students share and their classmates can constructively critique the writing piece(s) shared.

Some units, I do a lot of direct instruction and guided practice time. As for handing in assignments. Students are given a week to two weeks to work on a project. If it is in late, points are deducted and they still must complete the project.

So far, things seem to be working well. The students aren't burning out, but we're only 15 weeks in!

Best wishes.

4. mopar

mopar Multitudinous

Dec 28, 2010