Writing Survey

Discussion in 'General Education Archives' started by Guest, Nov 4, 2002.

1. Guest

Guest Guest

Nov 4, 2002

Hello,

I am a college student in Arlington, Texas studying to become a teacher. I would appreciate it if you could answer the following questions for a homework assignment. Please respond by November 8 if possible. Thank you very much for your time.

Robin Leming

Do your students use journals?

What are your journal policies (topics, frequency, privacy)?

Do your students use portfolios?

What are your portfolio policies (typical assignments, quantity of work kept, weight of portfolio grade)?

What other types of creative writing assignments do you use?

Do you feel that any of your writing assignments have helped students reduce their prejudices? Why or why not?

For statistical purposes:

What type is your school – urban, suburban, or rural?

What is your school size?

What is your state?

What subject do you teach?

What grade level do you teach?

What is your gender?

What is your age?

Again, thank you very much for your time and thoughts.

3. mommaruthie

mommaruthie Aficionado

Nov 4, 2002

answers

Robin,
    Do your students use journals?My students keep a writing portfolio (first/second graders)

What are your journal policies (topics, frequency, privacy)? we enter in weekly as creative writing responses. I teach a concept and they respond in their creative writing.

Do your students use portfolios? portfolios only to observe by parents and administration.

What are your portfolio policies (typical assignments, quantity of work kept, weight of portfolio grade)? the portfolio entries are based on tasks assigned at the beginning of the month. for continuity amongst all the 1st/2nd grade teachers

What other types of creative writing assignments do you use? We work on letter writing, poetry, analyzing sentences for grammar parts of speech. Persuasive Narrative and Expository writing. Use of synonyms and pronouns.