writing prompts

Discussion in 'Elementary Education Archives' started by momtobaln, Jul 10, 2007.

1. momtobaln

momtobaln Rookie

Jul 10, 2007

I teach 3rd grade and this is my first year. I would like to include creative writing as part of my morning activities. I have been looking, without much luck, for a good source for writing prompts to use with my students daily... anyone know of any?

3. born2teach84

born2teach84 Comrade

4. born2teach84

born2teach84 Comrade

5. Upsadaisy

Upsadaisy Moderator

Jul 10, 2007

I use writer's workshop and it frowns on prompts....

6. Ms.Jasztal

Ms.Jasztal Maven

Jul 10, 2007

I use a few. I don't go overboard on "los promptos" (fake Spanish haha language here) because then writing becomes (insert word here) ____(a chore?)____
    ____(a bore?)_____ _____(a thorn?)_____ _____(ick-ick-icky!!)____...

Now if your school requires it (like mine), you don't have much of a choice on how often your students write to prompts. But in order to keep things progressive and fresh, I don't want to overload the kids with too much writing that does not encourage them to be their "own author". I believe in balancing both kinds of teaching to show students that they can be themselves... and also that sometimes they write to certain tasks.

Okay, let me not get off-topic here with my use of boring adjectives and why I do what I do. Here's a few I do use and like- I do about four of my own a year-

You have applied for someone to remodel your home, and your application has been accepted.
    Think of three things the remodeling crew can do to make your home a nicer place to live for you and for your family.
    Now explain in five paragraphs how your home can be remodeled.

Everyone has thoughts of what they would do on their perfect day.
    Before you begin writing, think about what you would do on your perfect day.
    Now explain to the reader of your paper what you would do on your perfect day.