writing in first grade

Discussion in 'First Grade' started by Emerson Squirl, Oct 16, 2011.

1. Emerson Squirl

Emerson Squirl Rookie

Oct 16, 2011

I'm new to first grade this year, and learning quickly how much I took for granted in an upper grade! Now that I have students at the beginning stages of nearly everything, how to I begin writing with them? :confused: Do we cover the basic grammar elements: noun, verb, adjective, capitalization, etc. then move to the writing process or vice versa or a combination of both?
    I'm kinda overwhelmed with all the things I need to teach these little ones, but I also want to do a good job with it. :help:

3. MissScrimmage

MissScrimmage Aficionado

Oct 16, 2011

Start with letter sounds.

Model how to write down the sounds you hear in words.

Do a morning message and model sentences, punctuation, capital letters, etc.

Go sloooowly and do a workshop style, allowing children to move at their own pace.

Last edited: Oct 16, 2011
  4. Iteach782

Iteach782 Comrade

Oct 16, 2011

I always start off the year with cloze sentences. During this stage of copying what's on the board, I stress the basic rules of capitalization, punctuation, spacing, etc. Eventually, students begin to write their own sentences...some sooner than the others. I then teach the writing process once most students start writing on their own.

5. soleil00

soleil00 Comrade

Oct 16, 2011

We started off this year (it is my first year, but also first year for this program) with a program called Empowering Writers.

Essentially, every week you have a story. The story gives short crisp sentences with easily comprehended topics. Then it asks a question like "What did Dan do?"

The kids copy (I model write): "Dan ran."

That was our first sentence. Now we are on to sentences like: "Mom put it on the porch." with our halloween/pumpkin story.

We underline nouns in red, verbs in green, and trace the capital letter and punctuation with blue.