Would You Teach Your Own Child?

Discussion in 'General Education' started by TripleB, Apr 24, 2009.

1. TripleB

TripleB New Member

Apr 24, 2009

I'm a 7th grade math teacher and my daughter is going to be in 7th grade next year. She wants to have me (her dad) as her teacher but I'm still weighing the positives and the negatives from both my point of view and hers.

So I would like to hear what you think.

Is it a good idea to teach your own child (or for your child to have you as a teacher) in a public school if there are other options?

Thanks for any input.

TripleB

3. stephenpe

stephenpe Connoisseur

Apr 24, 2009

Are you the best math teacher there? Can you treat her like any other kid in class? If you answer yes BY ALL means teach her. What a great opportunity. I taught both mine PE for 6 years and reading in a few grades.

4. Miss J. Pre-K

Miss J. Pre-K Comrade

Apr 24, 2009

I'm surprised that your administration will let you if there are other options. With that said, I had my mother teach me in high school for all 4 years, but it was a specialty subject and she was the only one teaching it. I did have issues with what to call her in class . . . I mostly just raised my hand without calling. I enjoyed it until the other kids said things like, "Well, of course she got an A, she probably sees the tests in advance." "Of course she got the subject award, her mother gives her extra credit points." etc. I tried not to let it bother me, and my good grades in other classes pretty much proved it wasn't favortism. There are good and bad points to it.

5. kcjo13

kcjo13 Phenom

Apr 24, 2009

I don't have a choice, as I'm the only 6th grade teacher. Actually, I'm not looking forward to it (my daughter's only in 2nd now). I guess I'll figure it out...or there's always that sabbatical...

6. TripleB

TripleB New Member

Apr 24, 2009

According to the test scores over the past 6 years I am (highest growth each year). I believe so.