Would you really do it all again?

Discussion in 'Elementary Education Archives' started by belovedrebel, Oct 10, 2005.

1. belovedrebel

belovedrebel Rookie

Oct 10, 2005

I am a recent college graduate in her 30's who took the long way to her BA, stopping along the way for marriage and parent care. I am registered to begin my M.Ed. in Elementary Ed on Friday, and as much as I want to do this, I am getting the jitters. It didn't help that I just read the "No Child Left Behind" archived thread just now. I know that even though I have a lot to learn, I also have a lot to contribute, and I want to teach. I am not afraid of hard work, and certainly more committed to being satisfied in my work than committed to making as much money as possible.

And yet, I am terrified. I can't exactly say why. My biggest fear is to be stuck in a situation where my principal is hostile, where I have to teach the curriculum as written whether or not it is helping my students, and where I don't have mentoring or support of any kind.

So, my question is: Would you do it over again? Is it worth the time and money of a graduate degree? I guess I just need a little reassurance that I am doing the right thing.

Thanks in advance. I promise not all of my posts will have a whiny tone!

3. AMK

AMK Aficionado

Oct 10, 2005

Unlike a lot of my friends I love what I do. Yes it can be hard work and this year I am at a new school and I am getting used to a new curriculum.

My school is very supportive and all of the teachers have been helping me greatly. I actually turned down a job when I first started teaching b.c I didn't think the school and the principal were a good match for me. I went and taught at a school for 4 years and while I taught during the day I took classes at night to get my masters. I am at public school now where I am really happy. I use the curriculum but I am so free to incorporate other things too.