Would you ever turn down a student gift?

Discussion in 'General Education' started by RadiantBerg, Dec 20, 2013.

1. RadiantBerg

RadiantBerg Cohort

Dec 20, 2013

As a high school teacher, I don't get nearly as many gifts as an elementary school teacher does. Today I got 6 gifts. 3 of them were edibles (i.e. chocolate boxes the best type of gift :)) and two were smaller amount gift cards (~$15-20). Then one kid gave me a $100 American Express gift card. I really, really appreciate the generosity, but I almost feel bad about accepting such a gift just for doing my job. Now I did write this kid a nice letter of rec, and help her with some other things, but it seemed like a lot to receive from a student. I accepted the gift because I wouldn't want to offend her turning it down, and I plan to write a great thank you note for it.

Would you think that much of a gift to be too much from a student? Would you ever tell a student that you really appreciate the thought, but couldn't accept such a high amount?

(As a disclaimer---I am in a VERY wealthy school district so I doubt it was a hardship or anything for the family, but still...)

3. JustMe

JustMe Virtuoso

Dec 20, 2013

I think it makes a difference if you're in a "VERY wealthy" community, but it does seem like a lot. It was very kind of the student/family. It would very much depend of several factors as to whether I accept it. Being that you're in a wealthy district, I would probably call home and thank the family but tell them you feel it's too much...they'll probably insist that's not true and that they appreciate you. And then I'd accept. :)

4. smalltowngal

smalltowngal Multitudinous

Dec 20, 2013

I have never turned down a gift from a student. You're one lucky teacher!

5. gr3teacher

gr3teacher Phenom

Dec 20, 2013