Would you be interested in taking on a student teacher?

Discussion in 'General Education' started by sunshine*inc, Apr 19, 2010.

1. sunshine*inc

sunshine*inc Cohort

Apr 19, 2010

I went out to lunch last week with three teachers from a school that I sub at quite regularly. I will begin student teaching in the fall so we were discussing that topic. All of them said they would not be interested in taking on a student teacher citing poor previous experiences, additional time they have to spend planning, and giving up control of their classroom especially near testing. These same teachers have offered to have me student teach in their class if I can request a school but I think it's because they know me personally. I don't believe that they receive any compensation for being a cooperating teacher. If asked, would you take on a student teacher?

3. PCdiva

PCdiva Connoisseur

Apr 19, 2010

When I was a student teacher the cooperating teacher recieved $200 for the six weeks, most of the other colleges give 1.5 credits for the six weeks, 3 if they do the whole semester 12 weeks/2 student teachers.....most of the cooperating teachers can then sell these credit vouchers for about $1000 for 3 credits.

It could be a lot of work or it could be very beneficial to you as a cooperating teacher, I guess it depends on person and the screening process the colleges use.

4. Muttling

Muttling Devotee

Apr 19, 2010

I would.

5. MrsC

MrsC Multitudinous

Apr 20, 2010

I would, but it likely won't happen because of my Special Ed position.

6. ku_alum

ku_alum Aficionado

Apr 20, 2010

I have a student teacher right now.

7. Aliceacc

Aliceacc Multitudinous

Apr 20, 2010

I would and I have.

But I admit it's hard seeing a student flounder with a lesson when I KNOW that I know the words that could clear up the misunderstanding.

8. swansong1

swansong1 Virtuoso

Apr 20, 2010