Would getting a Master's in Education hurt me?

Discussion in 'General Education' started by Teacheroflove, Aug 27, 2013.

1. Teacheroflove

Teacheroflove Rookie

Aug 27, 2013

I have my bachelor's degree in Psychology and would love to become a teacher. It is my passion and am very certain of my career choice. However, I am reading A LOT of discouraging posts about elementary jobs. I currently work as a paraprofessional in a preschool and I absolutely love it. I love the kids and I really enjoy teaching.

I need to get certified but most schools don't seem to have post back programs or they say they do and then I find out it's really a master's program. It's all so confusing. Some post bacc programs I have found are expensive and take as long, if not longer than master's would in other schools.

I have found some good master's programs and I would like to go for my Master's. All in all, from the research I have done, it would cost me almost the same amount of money (give or take, depending on the schools) to do a post bacc as it would a master's program. Same goes with time. So, why not get a master's? I read on another post I wrote on here that they don't want to pay out more money, which makes sense, but in PA new hired teachers with a master's degree make $1000 more per year than teachers with bachelors. You can look at their website. Are they really going to look over me if I have good test scores, preschool experience and good grades just because I have a master's degree? Is it really that brutal out there? I also speak Spanish and intend to get certified to teach in Spanish as well. I have a minor in Spanish. Will that help when it comes time to look for a job?

I apologize for the many questions. I just want to make sure I'm making the right decision. Thank you!

3. RadiantBerg

RadiantBerg Cohort

Aug 27, 2013