Would Appreciate Some Help!

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by cantankerous, Sep 25, 2010.

1. cantankerous

cantankerous Rookie

Sep 25, 2010

I am 40+ years old and I need to find a job teaching...but it is not easy. Need some advice!
    See, I have 10 years experience teaching at a VERY small private school. It was not accredited and although I was teaching there, many other schools seem to not regard that as experience.

In addition, I have no references. I do not have problems with teaching, but I am pretty quiet and most people sort of...well, they don't much like me! So, I have no friends and no work type references.

No kids, not married...that looks "weird" to folks, too.

Is it possible to get a teaching job without references? My certification expired and I will have to get it renewed before I can teach here in TX (just moved here). But am not sure if it's even worth it if I have the same bad luck as I did in my former state/town.

Also, I have difficulty with the questions they ask on interviews...they seem so "deep". Like, can't I just TEACH? It's not that hard, but people won't give me a chance.

Should I forget it? Just cuz I have graduate coursework in early childhood education, doesn't mean I have to be a teacher I guess. I hear Wal Mart is hiring :lol:

3. czacza

czacza Multitudinous

Sep 25, 2010

No kids and not married are not on your resume so that shouldn't look 'weird' to anyone.

How have you taught for 10 years and have no references?

4. Starista

Starista Cohort

Sep 25, 2010

I wouldn't be too worried about be single & childless... :)

Maybe you could ask your former coworkers to provide you references? Will the Principal from your former school give you one?

Also ~ I keep postive/thankful emails from parents in my portfolio and have used those as reference-type letters as well.

Best wishes. :)

5. cantankerous

cantankerous Rookie

Sep 26, 2010