Worst interview ever..(So I thought)

Discussion in 'Job Seekers' started by Cme10, Oct 2, 2013.

1. Cme10

Cme10 Rookie

Oct 2, 2013

I had an interview on Monday afternoon. But before we go too far, let me tell you a little about me.

I am 27 years old, I graduated in 2008, and have since been unable to find work. I received a dual degree in Elementary Education k-6 and Exceptional Education K-12 plus an endorsement for ESOL. I have tried for several years to become a substitute, or have any job in the school system. Last year I got a lucky break and became a paraprofessional at a high school. I worked mainly in the guidance office but I was also called upon EVERY day to substitute classes, more than one usually. ( I became a guidance office assistant and an in house substitute.) I killed myself for this job, hardly ever taking leave, always trying to improve (I never received anything less than good on my evaluations.) At the end of the year even though my evaluation stated I improved tremendously they still let me go. >:[ They waited until the transfer period was over to tell me (leaving me to hope that I might be able to transfer into a teaching position within the same county). Their reason for letting me go was that they were "taking the position into a new direction". Seeing as how I am quite educated and highly qualified I could not think of any direction they could take the position to that I couldn't follow. But I let it go, thanked the principal for the opportunity he had given me and finished out the year at the same pace I started at (Hard and fast getting the office caught up on 5+ years of back filing in student records).