Worst day/week every... wanted to quit... HELP!

Discussion in 'Behavior Management' started by srfjeld, Mar 14, 2010.

1. srfjeld

srfjeld Companion

Mar 14, 2010

I am in my second year teaching first grade and last week my kids ran over me like a Mac truck, put it in reverse and did it again and again and again. I was so mad that I emptied their entire "warm fuzzy" jar (like a marble jar). It was maybe 10 fuzzies away from being full. They gasped, but then started talking again shortly afterward.

I need to get this thing back on track. We have about 13 weeks of school left and I can't have anymore weeks like this.

They talk, don't listen, get out of their seats and come up to me in the middle of my teaching a lesson, come up to me and paw at me when they know they are not supposed to, whine like crazy, tattle tale all day, roll their eyes, etc... sounds like typical first grade behavior, right? I know it is, what I don't know how to do is make it stop. They know the rules but choose to disobey them.

I have a card system. I tried some power teaching techniques, I use the warm fuzzy jar for bigger rewards, I try (though I'm not very good at) the 5 positive remarks for every negative. I feel like I have too many balls in the air.

Here's one thing I do know. Last week I had one bad day, and then another and by the 3rd day I was still pissed about the day before so I was already grumpy, then by the 4th day I was just bitter and by the 5th day I just knew it was gonna suck so I got what I put out... immense negativity. This week I'm gonna fake it til I make it... it's gonna be a GREAT week!!!