World War I

Discussion in 'Middle School / Junior High' started by Storyteller, Jan 5, 2014.

1. Storyteller

Storyteller Rookie

Jan 5, 2014

Hi! Hope everyone had a great Christmas break. I was just wondering if anyone had any tips on teaching World War I to 7th grade? As a first-year teacher, I'm hoping to get advice anywhere! Thanks!

3. AdamnJakesMommy

AdamnJakesMommy Habitué

Jan 5, 2014

After my student teaching last fall in 6th grade social studies I went to 7th and 8th grade. And my area of historical scholarship was primarily WWI during college.

WWI is much more about the storyline--the details of the war secondary. I spent a lot of time talking about the conditions Europe was in and how it was a powder keg ready to explode. Emphasize about the disgruntled minority groups, particularly in Austria-Hungary and southeastern Europe. Also the conditions under Tsar Nicholas II in Russia are hugely important to the pull-out of Russia in 1917 (Bolshevik takeover). I loved my WWI unit because I got to talk about the things I loved the most. Most importantly do not separate WWI and WWII as isolated events--they are not. The outcome of WWI is the biggest contributing factor of WWII. I spent considerable time in my WWI examining the Versailles Treaty, the complete "beat down" Germany experienced which led to the ability of Hitler to takeover German. Without the outcome of VT, Hitler never would of obtained power. Kids often wonder why Hitler was appealing--he wouldn't have been, if the Versailles Treaty wasn't so harsh on Germany. The Versailles Treaty's demilitarization of Germany, harsh reparations, loss of Alsace-Lorraine, and most importantly while all other ethnic groups in Europe were given the right of self-determination--Germans were not. This was key to the "invasions" of Czechoslovakia in 1938 and Austria.