Worksheets - yes or no?

Discussion in 'Elementary Education Archives' started by Ms.T, Jun 29, 2007.

1. Ms.T

Ms.T Comrade

Jun 29, 2007

Hey all,

I was just reading a very interesting thread in the preschool section and I thought I'd get some insight from my fellow elementary teachers.

When I was student teaching, my school did not use worksheets very much at all; it was frowned upon. Maybe 5% of the work was worksheets. However, at my current job they seem to LOVE worksheets. Many of the teachers in my school seem to use them as busywork and to keep their classes quiet. I remember not liking them much as a kid. Even as a teacher, I find them boring and don't feel that they teach skills very well. I prefer to do hands-on activities. I'd like to cut down on worksheets majorly this coming year. I will probably send them as homework, for reenforcement.

How do you feel about worksheets? How often and what kinds of worksheets do you use?

3. MissFrizzle

MissFrizzle Virtuoso

Jun 29, 2007

I think the key word is VALUE. Everything has it's place- even a worksheet here and there. I would much rather create my own than use one already created... at least I can put all the infomration in there that I think is important.

4. MissFroggy

MissFroggy Aficionado

Jun 29, 2007

I use some worksheets, but when I do, most of the time I have made them myself to go with a specific activity. If I make them, I find that they relate to what we are doing, and help organize the students ideas.

I also prefer hands-on work, but find I need to know what they have done, and make some kind of recording sheet to go along with it.

I used to have an activity each morning ready for the kids, and it was generally a worksheet, math, writing, spelling, etc. Now I do a problem on the board as a morning message. They either write the answer on the board, or an index card. It really cuts down on my work load, as correcting all the worksheets is a huge time consumer.

5. Touchthefuture