Working with SPED Teachers/Therapists

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by Miss J. Pre-K, Dec 4, 2008.

1. Miss J. Pre-K

Miss J. Pre-K Comrade

Dec 4, 2008

I'm a first year teacher in a Headstart Pre-K classroom. Four of my children are identified and have IEPS, and probably two more will be soon (evals are done, waiting for the meetings). I have an OT, PT, and SLP come into my room regularly to work with my kids with IEPS. I'm just wondering if it's normal for them to work with that child in a corner somewhere (or even in the supply closet--I try to discourage this) and then not tell me, the teacher, what they have been working on. I would like to know so I can do similar activities with these kids when the therapists are not around, but it's like pulling teeth to get them to tell me what they're doing. Sometimes it's obvious, but sometimes, especially with the speech, it's not. I've even suggested that they could do some activities with a small group of students (some of the kids need socialization help), and none of them are open to working with more than one child at a time.

Is this normal? I would like to set up a good relationship with these people, as two out of three are in my class twice a week. I try to tell them new things I have noticed about the children. Why won't they reciprocate?

3. SpecialPreskoo

SpecialPreskoo Moderator

Dec 4, 2008

It is normal for them to only want to work with a child 1:1 but they should be open to giving you ideas and such so you can continue the activities. If you have a copy of their IEP (which you should have) then you should be in the know on what they are working on, but they should be able to give you specific activities that they are doing in order to meet those goals.

4. Mrs_Barrett

Mrs_Barrett Cohort

Dec 4, 2008