Working with paraprofessionals in the classroom

Discussion in 'Preschool' started by jteach89, Nov 25, 2015.

1. jteach89

jteach89 Companion

Nov 25, 2015

Hey everyone, its been a while since ive been on here but really could use some advice. This may be a lot but if anyone takes the time to read this i really REALLY appreciate it.

Im currently a upk teacher, and Im having a hard time dealing and working with a para in my classroom. This is my third year teaching, and the para has not had ANY prior experience working in a pre-k setting. This is my para and myself second year teaching prek. While I do feel she has gotten better, I personally not sure if Pre-k is the right setting for her. At times my frustrations comes out on her. (which I do feel badly). I feel like I have to do SO much modeling, and explain EVERYTHING bit by bit. After a while it gets annoying and exhausing.

What I've decided to do this year is ,I created her own book wtih resources, songs, the schedule and things required of a para to do. What I also do is LIST her responsibilites by schedule of the day and things that may need to be done. I also decided to give her some students that she would focus on and assist with their needs during center time or other parts of the day. I list what she should look for with these students, i even list generallized things required of her for the day.