Working with a co-teacher

Discussion in 'New Teachers' started by JustineCase, Oct 19, 2008.

1. JustineCase

JustineCase Rookie

Oct 19, 2008

I'm in my 2nd year & i have a couple of classes where I co-teach with a special education teacher... well.. the theory is that we co-teach. I think this teacher likes to lecture & won't meet with me out of classtime to plan. They want to discuss this stuff during class time...Also, any emails I send go unanswered. Recently the teacher has begun helping with correctng work (quizzes, with a key, which i make up) but has yet to be involved with other grading.

The sped teacher i worked with last year transferred to a different school & the replacement teacher is a veteran teacher from out-of-state. I was born and raised in-state, and am actually a graduate of the high school where i work.

My biggest issue is that we have very different teaching styles. I'm waay more laid-back and I don't mind a "noisy" classroom. I can overlook a couple of students in the back whispering quickly, but i call them on it if it's excessive. Mostly by calling their names & asking htem to be quiet. I get an apology and we move on.

My new co-teacher, however seems to ramp everything up to a "respect" issue/confrontation. This teacher quickly invokes a sharp tone and continues to tell them they're too old to behave the way they do, or that given the grade they're in, they should already have the knowldege they'r asking for (like the definition of a word) that previous students from where the teacher came from were more mature, etc.

I'm not sure if this teacher even knows all the students by name/face yet. Teacher misread a name on a student's paper & called out for that student to come forward...but no one in either of our classes has that name!