Working w/ Your Paraprofessional?

Discussion in 'Special Education Archives' started by Ms. I, Aug 9, 2006.

1. Ms. I

Ms. I Maven

Aug 9, 2006

I'm a newly hired RSP teacher. I'd appreciate your replies to as many of these questions as possible as well as any other info you can give. Regarding working w/ your paras:

- What would be some good questions to ask him/her since I'm the new teacher coming on board?

-How do you start off on the right foot & portray that you look forward to having a positive & successful working relationship w/ your para?

- What schedule do you have worked out regarding the two of you working w/ the students? For example, does your para work w/ certain grps & you work w/ others for a few mos., then switch so all students have a chance to work w/ both of you?

- How do you handle it if your para shows resentment, especially since you're his/her new (younger) boss & they have been working there for a while?

3. MissFrizzle

MissFrizzle Virtuoso

Aug 9, 2006

Ms. I

Congrats again on your new position. I just wanted to say that the most important thing to remember when working with a para is to use them effectively. Ask for their input and suggestions and recongnize them. Paras are not there just to do paperwork and make copies. At least that's my opinion.
    Ask your para what type of experience they have had working with the population. What grade levels they enjoy? What are their strengths and weaknesses ( as teachers we are always getting asked that question.... so why not ask it yourself). Ask them what they see themselves doing in the classroom this year. This way you are both clear on expectations.
    Wish I could be of more help.

4. bcblue

bcblue Comrade

Aug 9, 2006