work stations menu

Discussion in 'First Grade' started by Lynnnn725, Aug 11, 2011.

1. Lynnnn725

Lynnnn725 Connoisseur

Aug 11, 2011

I know many of you do Daily 5... this post is not for you :p

For those who do work stations, do any of you allow your students to pick their work station? I've been letting my students choose their math stations for 5 years now and I'm ready to let them start choosing their literacy stations.
    My question is... how do you do it? Do you have a menu and they pick or do they put a clip next to a certain icon somewhere in the room or on a chart or something. Just wondering how to organize them choosing their stations and getting around to all of them.

So far, I've thought of creating a menu. It's more of a grid. Each box has a station. They write the date in the box and keep the paper in their work station folder. And maybe on the whiteboard there is a larger copy of the grid and the kids put their magnetic name in the box of the station they are going to that day. IDK. Never have done this before. I'm sure I'm thinking too much...

3. lilmisses1014

lilmisses1014 Comrade

Aug 12, 2011

It depends on the group of students. Last year, I was able to let them choose their own stations, and they did so responsibly. Fortunately (I think...) I am required to have quite a few stations (computers, writing, listening, library, word work/phonics, retelling), so it's easy to spread the students out.

A couple of years ago, I assigned stations for the students. They each received a manila file folder with personalized schedule stapled inside. They put all of their work-- complete and incomplete-- in their folders, which I checked on Fridays. I will probably do the same for this year's class.

I know a lot of teachers like to use pocket charts to assign stations. It's a great idea, but it didn't work too well for me. My students also wasted a lot of time hanging out at the pocket chart stand, staring at it.

4. Tasha

Tasha Phenom

Aug 12, 2011