Work at a preschool for now?

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by lindsey923, May 14, 2010.

1. lindsey923

lindsey923 Rookie

May 14, 2010

As we all know, it is basically impossible for a new elementary teacher in NJ to find a job in the current market. What I am wondering is.. is it worth it for me to suck it up for a year or two and get paid $9 an hour teaching at a preschool? Will this look good on my resume/help me find something when/if the situation does turn around in the next year or two? I am afraid I will just be wasting my time getting underpaid while I can get a job sitting at a desk (I have a few years experience as an office manager..) for 30k a year. I really do not want to give up on education, but I am not so sure I have a choice. :help:

3. hac711

hac711 Companion

May 14, 2010

Try a private school first, and then if all else fails, go for preschool or subbing!

4. DrivingPigeon

DrivingPigeon Phenom

May 14, 2010

When I was job hunting a few years ago, I applied to be a 4K teacher at a bunch of preschools. I was offered all of the 4K jobs I applied for, because I was so qualified compared to other candidates. Personally, I would have taken a job at a preschool over an office job. I just made sure to apply at NAEYC certified centers because I figured they would be quality centers.

5. gottagoodgig

gottagoodgig Companion

May 14, 2010