Work after work for a Montessori Teacher?

Discussion in 'Montessori Archives' started by lymartinez, May 13, 2004.

1. lymartinez

lymartinez Guest

May 13, 2004

Dear Montessori Teachers,
    I am about to start Montessori Primary Teacher Training in the fall. I have been teaching art in Public Schools for several years as an independent contractor through different non-for-profit organizations. Lately, I see that with all the new board of ed changes (I'm in NYC right now so I don't know how the rest of the USA is like), teachers are working super long overtime hours striving to keep with what the school expects of them. Also, I've been working so much in so many workshops and after school programs lately that I don't have one second of breathing time for my own life or even a walk in the park... Yes, I love what I'm doing but this is too much. This morning I had a horrible thought: WHAT IF IT'S LIKE THIS???? What if becoming a Montessori teacher will take over my every waking moment? Can I do that? Don't get me wrong, I'll do everything I love for as long as it takes but, you know, it's good to disconnect once in a while. I'm an artist as well and being able to continue to progress in my artwork is very important too! And I need good healthy relaxed times in my week to be of any good... I really do. So: Can you give me, please, an estimate of how many prep hours per day you spend? I'm looking into Primary training but could any teachers with this AND any other certifications let me know too? And I'm wondering if probably the first year or couple of years it's harder because it's newer and so you spend more time... or maybe it's because of where you work and what the demands are there??? I don't know. Any anecdotes or perspectives will be immensely appreciated! All the best, Lilli

3. mommaruthie

mommaruthie Aficionado

May 14, 2004

All teachers put in hours after school. I try not to, I even bring stuff home for the entire week i refuse to touch it!