Word Wall....?

Discussion in 'Elementary Education Archives' started by Loves2TeachinSC, Jun 28, 2006.

1. Loves2TeachinSC

Loves2TeachinSC Rookie

Jun 28, 2006

Hey everybody. I am going to be teaching 3rd grade this coming school year and it's my first year! I know about word walls, but I am wondering what words go on them. I noticed in a teacher supply magazine that you can by word walls, but the words are different for each one. I didn't know if there is a particular word wall that I need to use, or is it up to the school district, or is it up to me? Any advice would work wonders!

3. MissBanger

MissBanger Rookie

Jun 28, 2006

Good question, Vicky! I need to know this too :)

4. bam451

bam451 Rookie

Jun 28, 2006

Check with your district to see if they have a specific one they are using. My grade level purchased the Carson Dellosa word wall that was specific to our grade level and used that for a few years. Then last year, our district decided that they wanted everyone to use the same word wall words and gave us a list. They ended up buying the whole district a new brand. I can't remember which one it is though.

5. Mable

Mable Enthusiast

Jun 28, 2006

I use theme words, words from reading, and high frequency words.

6. MissV

MissV Companion

Jun 28, 2006

Hi skippy!
    I'm teaching 3rd grade this year, and I taught title 1 for 3rd and 4th last year, so I have my word wall all set.
    I bought Carson Delosa's "Month by month phonics for 3rd grade" and absolutely LOVE IT!! It tells you the words to stick on the word wall and gives you phonics activities to do.

You can see the book at my website:
    http://valerie.ferrellweb.com/teachers/books/
    (Just click "show information")

I also redid my wordwall this year on photoshop so I could make the colors actually coordinate! Here is a picture of my finished word wall that I'm going to use this year:

http://valerie.ferrellweb.com/images/wordwall.gif