Word Wall Question

Discussion in 'Second Grade' started by Teach2Learn07, Jun 8, 2009.

1. Teach2Learn07

Teach2Learn07 New Member

Jun 8, 2009

Hi-
    This is my first time in the forum. Everyone seems so helpful so I decided to post my question.
    Here it goes: I just got a job teaching 2nd grade (very happy). I am ONLY teaching Language Arts, and my principal wants me to incorporate various word walls. I noticed most people use the alphabet to do high frequency words and also have other word walls as well (i.e. parts of speech, book words, etc). Should I have more than one word wall? Would it be too confusing for my students to have more than one word wall?

Thanks!:confused:

3. shortee

shortee Companion

Jun 8, 2009

I don't think it would be confusing. I teach 2nd grade--all subjects. So I have a math word wall, a science word wall, etc. I usually start my word walls with just a few words though and build as the year goes on.

4. tgim

tgim Habitué

Jun 8, 2009

Welcome! I agree w/ shortee, you can make it work. I tend to like a WW w/ categories of words like Sci/SS/Math words, then nouns, verbs, adjectives, question words, ??? words (not sure which category), etc. Be sure to include Multiple Meaning Words as a category as that is important in 2nd grade.

Congrats on the job, too! Enjoy!

5. mrsleapfrog

mrsleapfrog Companion

Jun 9, 2009

When I taught 4th this year I had a word wall for math, science, social studies, and language. I added new words each week and at the end of the nine weeks took the entire word wall down and started over. I had to do this because I didn't have enough room to keep all the words up.

6. RainStorm

RainStorm Phenom

Jun 9, 2009