Word Wall problem

Discussion in 'Elementary Education Archives' started by cheer, Jun 29, 2007.

1. cheer

cheer Comrade

Jun 29, 2007

I have been teaching for 4 years in this one school and I have had problems with where my WWW would go. The first problem was I needed a ladder to hang a word:eek: Then my room got changed to a very small room with NO wall space.(windows,doors,blackboad, and hooks cover every wall) I then decided to try the file card box method. Each child would have a file card box in their desk. Each monday they would add their new WWW to the box. This was great to teach alpha. order but some student wouldnt do it and they NEVER refered to it. I need an idea on how to display the WWW. Our spelling list uses 3 high frequency words each week. What if I just put them on a small space under the board and placed the other words on a rolodex to use if they need it. Does this make sense? I need help solving this issue.

3. I want to TEACH

I want to TEACH Companion

Jun 29, 2007

Could you do it on the back of a door, the cabinets, or even the space above your blackboard???:angel:

4. Mable

Mable Enthusiast

Jun 29, 2007

I've tried a pocket chart. That way, you can post it on the chalkboard or even on the back of a shelf or if you have a pocket chart stand. I think you may even be able to purchase one without trying to put one together yourself.

5. cheer

cheer Comrade

Jun 29, 2007

ohh Im sorry I forgot to say that we keep all the words up all year so the list is huge! Is this wrong?? Should I not keep them all up all year?

6. Mable

Mable Enthusiast

Jun 29, 2007

I transfer some words to a "No Excuse" word list that they keep in their writing folders. That way, I can keep focus on new words. I have a "wanted" poster where I write words that I find many students are spelling incorrectly on a regular basis. I also have a section that lists vocabulary words that is on my focus wall bulletin board.

7. corps2005

corps2005 Cohort

Jun 29, 2007