Won't Be Considered Unless Substituting First?

Discussion in 'Job Seekers' started by fishkafoon, Jul 15, 2010.

1. fishkafoon

fishkafoon Rookie

Jul 15, 2010

This question has been stewing for awhile.

A bit of background first ...
    For the past year and a couple of months, I've worked with a boss whose wife is an assistant principal. When he discovered I was a former special education teacher, the message was relayed. In time, she did see my resume. She replied with a note which basically stated that based upon my experience and qualifications, I was the type of teacher they would definitely hire. It was only natural to apply.

I didn't receive a response from the district but never allowed that to discourage me. At one point, my boss did ask me if I ever applied to any of the available openings. I told him that I did and even applied to an opening at his wife's school. She never saw my official resume or application. With that particular district alone, I have applied to 42 openings in the past year. While attending a local job fair back in the spring, I talked to the school representative and was told to apply to their substitute list. It came up in casual conversation at work and my boss affirmed that the district was "odd like that". Regardless of how stellar the resume, training, and experience may be, they simply won't give a second glance. They will not consider hiring anyone unless they substitute.

I couldn't understand why I wasn't told but that's neither here nor there - just felt the attempt was in vain.

Has anyone else dealt with a similar issue in a school district to which you've applied (or intend to apply)?

3. AhoyHoy

AhoyHoy Rookie

Jul 16, 2010

Is it that they won't consider you unless you've subbed in their district, or they won't consider you if you're not subbing in general?