Wilson

Discussion in 'Special Education' started by waterfall, Jun 9, 2016.

1. waterfall

waterfall Maven

Jun 9, 2016

My P called me the other day to see if I would be willing to go to a 3 day training for this program this summer. I have no prior experience with it, but we do use Fundations (same company) in gen ed and it has helped my younger students. I can't go to the training she suggested because I'll be out of town. She asked if I was interested in looking for another one and I told her I would do some research and get back to her. We got a reading grant from the state this year and I guess they're willing to provide money for the Wilson program in addition to the gen ed curriculum we're getting if the school can prove they've got people that are trained in it.

What are your experiences with this program? My understanding is that you can only start it in 3rd grade, which is a small portion of my caseload since I work with K-3 (4-6 teacher has already been trained in a previous district).

Are there set times that you're supposed to do the program weekly? A big problem with the programs we have available now is that you're supposed to do them for huge amounts of time, and we just don't have that. I never use our current reading intervention program (Language!) because you're supposed to do it for 90 mins per day, 5 days per week. In a good week (seems like something is always interrupting) I have 30 mins per day, 4 days per week for reading.

Is there a set number of students you're supposed to have in a group (this has also been an issue, many programs say 3 students, and I often have at least 5-6, sometimes up to 8 or 9).

Is there a specific kind of student you've found the program to be successful with? The great majority of my kids have really significant decoding problems and are just struggling with learning how to read in the first place. I haven't had a kid who could decode but struggled with comprehension in years.