Williams Syndrome

Discussion in 'Special Education Archives' started by janet foresman, Sep 10, 2002.

1. Sep 10, 2002

I am an elem. special ed teacher. I have a young student with Williams Syndrome. Wondering if anyone else teaches a child like this and what are some successfull things being used. Behavior is a problem, and transitioning to and from other classes, and in the regular classroom. Also what are some type of lesson ideas that have been successful? Thanks for any and all help. JF

3. Guest

Guest Guest

Sep 10, 2002

Hello Janet I am also new to this chat page, however I was searching the site and saw your inqury on williams. I am a regular ed. teacher in the second grade. This is my second school year with a child who has williams in my classroom.
    He currently comes for science, social studies and health. Their is not a lot of information available on this syndrome. At the end of last year this child was able to read his name and a few basic sight words. In addition he was able to do basic math facts with a number line. It seems that he has lost virtually all this knowledge over the summer and at this point he is pratically re-learning how to write his name.
    Behavior was a problem for me at first, with respect to his attitude. He flat out refused to do anything. Almost lazy, he just didn't want to try.
    We were fortunate to have good home support, and the parents really buckled down on him, as did we at school. He simply began to loose privilages. We rewarded very small steps. If you walk from my room to the other without stopping or making any noises then you get a sticker or some small reward. This seemed to work well.
    In the regular ed room I gave him a student partner, and limited to his work to only the craft we were making and writing his name.
    He responds very well to one on one attention.