Will a degree help with the job search...?

Discussion in 'High School' started by decima205, Jun 27, 2016.

1. decima205

decima205 Rookie

Jun 27, 2016

(I'm in Texas btw.)

I have my undergraduate bachelor's in economics & business (double major), which I achieved 5 years ago. After a 5-year stint in the business world, I'm planning to change careers to teach at the high school level.

I have absolutely no interest in teaching either of the subjects I majored in. Rather, I want to teach math or physics. I took a few upper level math classes in college (DiffEQ, Linear Algebra, Probability & Random Variables), but truth be told it's been years and I'm very rusty. (I also got B's in all those classes, not sure if that hurts me.)

I'm currently enrolled in an ACP and have passed the TExES exams for math/physics. So yes, I'm technically qualified to teach high school math/physics. But I can't help worrying that principals/HR are going to see my resume, look at "B.S. Economics & Business" at the top, and immediately dismiss me without considering my certification. Do you think it would help the hiring process if I returned to school to get a degree in math/physics? I could either get a 2nd bachelor's in one of those subjects or a Masters in Applied Mathematics, or even a MAT in Mathematics...

Thoughts? I'm so new to all of this, so I apologize if this is an obvious or dumb question!

3. teacherintexas

teacherintexas Maven

Jun 27, 2016

How many hours do you have in math and physics?

4. decima205

decima205 Rookie

Jun 27, 2016

Physics - 8 credit hours (2 classes)
    Math - 20 credit hours (5 classes)

At my college, all classes were 4 credit hours apiece.

5. vickilyn

vickilyn Magnifico

Jun 28, 2016