Why we need to watch what we say.

Discussion in 'General Education' started by Allie B., Jul 3, 2009.

1. Allie B.

Allie B. New Member

Jul 3, 2009

Hi. I've been using the resources on this great site for a while now but I had never made a username or used the forums until now. I just want to share what I've learned with other teachers. I'm a teacher (going to be my 3rd year of teaching next year) but this post isn't necessarily about me.

My post is about my younger sister. She is 20 years old and I'm very proud of her because she does very well in school (going to be a Junior in college in the fall). She's a political science major concentrating in pre-law. She's part of the "Golden Key Society" at her school (as of now in the top 5% of her class) and was in NHS in high school. My sister has always struggled with math. She got mostly A's in every subject through high school but always got B's in math...and she had to WORK for those B's. Now that she's in college she doesn't take math anymore as her major doesn't require it.

Anyway she had a math teacher when she was in 8th grade who during a parent teacher conference with my mom and my sister (my sister went with my mom and the teacher let her in on the conference) told my mom and my sister my sister would never make it to/in college and should direct her efforts toward a more non-academic field as a career option.

In high school my sister had a history teacher who loved her, the teacher pushed her to take accelerated classes, wrote her recommendations for various things she was pursuing as well as her college ones, told her she was proud of her and knew she would do well on many occasions and asked her to stay in touch which my sister has.