Why should I hire YOU????

Discussion in 'Job Seekers' started by Aliceacc, Jun 28, 2010.

1. Aliceacc

Aliceacc Multitudinous

Jun 28, 2010

Each spring and summer, we see lots of cover letters posted here at A to Z.

And, while I'm no expert, it seems that many people don't have the right idea. They either rattle off a series of buzzwords, or spend paragraph after paragraph telling why THEY want to work THERE.

The reality is that the principal wants to know what YOU can do for HIM, and not the reverse.

So let's play a game.

List 3 or 4 reasons why I should hire you. As much as possible, keep your reasons free of buzzwords. Yeah, I know you're the master of differentiated instruction, and you know all about multiple intelligences-- so do all my other applicants. But why should I hire YOU??

Feel free to give an example of Johnny or Susie, who you taught, to illustrate your point.

Let's get you guys thinking in terms that will help in an interview or cover letter, OK??

3. Missy99

Missy99 Connoisseur

Jun 28, 2010

Thanks for posting this. I found it highly beneficial.

4. Aliceacc

Aliceacc Multitudinous

Jun 28, 2010

OK, Missy, you get a bye-- you answered my question on another thead :)

Oh, and pretty cool how I promoted myself to principal, huh???:lol:

5. Peachyness

Peachyness Virtuoso

Jun 28, 2010

Well, I have a job for next year, but I know that I will eventually start applyuing to outdoor education schools so here's a go at it, just a rough draft, throwing out some thoughts here while I have an earache :D:

I am a hard working, passionate teacher always looking to improve myself, my classroom, my lessons, my instruction. I am not afraid to try new things in the classroom, taking into consideration that new ideas/methods may take time to become fluid and successful in the classroom. I am passionate and optimistic, but also realistic with my expectations.