Why NOT say you're a new teacher?

Discussion in 'New Teachers' started by raneydae, Aug 24, 2008.

1. raneydae

raneydae Companion

Aug 24, 2008

This will be my first year teaching in a classroom and I've heard numerous times on here that new teachers shouldn't admit that they are new. I understand that students/parents may see this as a weakness, but does it always have to be the case??

Yes, this is my first time with my own classroom, but I still feel completely capable and confident that I will have authority of my classes. I am the oldest in a family of 6 kids (my youngest sister is a year younger than the kids I'll be teaching). I've been a camp counselor for 7 summers. I've taught/worked in an elementary school enrichment program for a year. I've done lots of tutoring, even spent a semester as a homeschool teacher for an 8th grader. This past year, I've worked on sets of commercials and film as the on-set teacher/tutor and child actor advocate. All of this along with my student teaching experience.

So I'm not new to working with kids. I know how they test things and I know how to be firm with them. I don't believe they will be have any kind of advantage over me because I am new. They will be freshman and new to the school as well. Is it still inadvisable for me to mention that this is my first year teaching? Why?

3. myangel52

myangel52 Comrade

Aug 24, 2008

Students DO try to take advantage of anything that they can find that they see as a "weakness". Any time that there would be a disagreement over a policy or you "punishing" them for breaking rules, they would pull out "Well, you are new, what do you know?"

I have had parents insinuate that I didn't know enough to handle situations because I was so young, which really meant because it was early in my career. I didn't tell anyone it was my first year teaching, but I still encountered some of the prejudice about it... from trouble-making students and parents.