Why learn math

Discussion in 'Secondary Education' started by American, Apr 17, 2009.

1. American

American Rookie

Apr 17, 2009

I would like math teachers to share the discussion. As a math teacher I was several times asked by my students that why they should learn algebra which they never use in real life. This how I explained:
    1) As I know java programming I could develop and demonstrate a
    grocery store computer billing programme which uses a linear
    equation to compute the bill. I also explained to them that every
    computer software uses low or advanced math equations.
    2) I explained to them that a good GPA is an indicator of their
    good learning ability and hard working nature. So employers
    need not to spend much time and money on training them
    for the job so they would be prefered for hiring.
    3) When they grow as adults they could help their kids in homework.

How did you guys dealt with the same situation ?

3. myangel52

myangel52 Comrade

Apr 17, 2009

Algebra is just solving for unknowns -- which we do all the time, but most people don't write it down. When we figure out how much money we need to pay bills -- algebra. When we need to figure out what the loan payments will be for that new car or the house -- algebra. Figure out sales tax? Algebra. Paycheck, after with-holdings? Algebra... Gas mileage, time to travel from A to B, cost of groceries, how much of this do I need to buy to feed my family, you name it, you can relate it to algebra.

What they learn in school is just the formalized way of writing it down to show someone else, and/or the abstract version of it. It all applies, though.

czacza likes this.
  4. American

American Rookie

Apr 17, 2009

I agree with you. That's how it should be explained.By definition algebra is the generalization of arithmetic. But I would like to know your past experience that how did you handle the situation and could you sell the concept to the students by 100%

5. robinsky