Why do you teach?

Discussion in 'High School' started by Coltooonnn, Oct 20, 2015.

1. Coltooonnn

Coltooonnn Guest

Oct 20, 2015

I'm not actually a teacher, yet. I am currently a second year college student HIGHLY considering changing my major from Computational Mathematics to Mathematics for Secondary School Teachers. I have talked to some of my old high school teachers, but I want to hear some more input. I'm mostly wondering, why do you teach? What encourages you to continue to teach through all of the ups and downs in your career?

3. Mr.Me

Mr.Me Rookie

Oct 20, 2015

I went into the career because I liked to play music and thought it would be fun to pass along that knowledge. I have definitely grown as a teacher since graduating from college in 1994.
    I feel that the passion for what I do has deepened since I started teaching.
    I love to work with kids that like to try to make something. Yes, the kids that are naturals are fun to work with, but it is the kids that work their butts off to make it happen that really get me energized.
    Teaching has changed drastically since the first day I started teaching. If I were to be given the option to be a teacher now, I don't think I would take it. Just being honest.
    Good luck.

4. czacza

czacza Multitudinous

Oct 20, 2015

Because I make a difference
    To inspire a love of learning
    Because every day is different
    Because the discoveries are joyful
    Ah ha moments
    Overcoming obstacles
    Because I'm really good at it
    Because my colleagues share my dedication and drive

Mr.Me likes this.
  5. catnfiddle

catnfiddle Moderator

Oct 20, 2015

Because this is what I'm supposed to be doing. I tried working outside of education for a decade and was merely content. Now, I'm extremely satisfied with my career and love the challenge of each day, despite the occasional odd grumble.

6. mathmagic

mathmagic Enthusiast

Oct 20, 2015