Why Do Teachers Look For Jobs In The Summer?

Discussion in 'General Education' started by Math, Mar 28, 2011.

1. Math

Math Cohort

Mar 28, 2011

Why do teachers look for Summer jobs like teenagers?

Do you guys ever consider teaching in the Summer?

Or unless you put some of money aside for the summer so your covered.

If I was a teacher I would just teach in the Summer...

3. Peachyness

Peachyness Virtuoso

Mar 28, 2011

Well, teachers may look for a job for various reasons.
    1) they are workoholics and need to do something during the summer
    2) not all school districts have summer school (or, it's VERY difficult to get a teaching job, my last school did this lottery thing) and they need the income to help pay bills
    3) many teachers receive 10 checks so they don't get anything during the summer months. Many are either not good at putting money away, or just have a lot of bills that need to be paid
    4) single parent
    5) want to earn extra money for a fun trip

4. Sarge

Sarge Enthusiast

Mar 28, 2011

Actually, I think more teachers travel during the summer than work.

I generally just sit on my rear and wait for my wife to get home each day.

5. pete2770

pete2770 Comrade

Mar 28, 2011

Some of them realize how much money they can make in the summer and can't pass it up.

My industrial tech teacher in high school built decks during the summer. He didn't need benefits and all that jazz, and was self employed. It doubled his annual salary to work those two months.

Personally, I'm going to live frugal as all heck, because I want to travel and relax.

6. Caesar753

Caesar753 Multitudinous

Mar 28, 2011

I don't teach in the summer because my district normally offers only core classes in summer school (and I teach an elective). I also really like being lazy in the summer.