Why do I weigh 210 pounds?

Discussion in 'Teacher Time Out' started by Sarge, Oct 24, 2008.

1. Sarge

Sarge Enthusiast

Oct 24, 2008

I'm 6'1" and 46 years old. 20 years ago, I weighed 175.

The answer would be obvious, except that a typical day for me involves between 60 and 120 minutes of cycling and/or an hour of swimming. About 20-30 miles on my bike and about a mile in the pool. Generally, if I know I'm going to the pool, I might only bike 20 miles that day. But if I'm not swimming that day, I will take the long route to and from work.

I bike about 18-20 mph and swim about a 2 minute per 100 yards pace.

I've been doing this for a few years now. Based on the number of calories I've burned, I should weigh about 90 pounds.

I don't eat very well, but I'm no fast food junkie either. I don't drink beer either.

Anyone else have this problem where they exercise A LOT for A LONG TIME and still don't lose weight?

3. FarFromHome

FarFromHome Connoisseur

Oct 24, 2008

I've had that problem a lot of my life. I got pretty obsessive about working out-running 5-10 or more miles a day, then going to one or two classes at the gym also. I was working out 2-3 hours a day, but my weight didn't change. My weight finally did change when I bumped up the intensity. So you could try riding a little faster.

It really is about eating right. Maybe try to switch to healthier foods. (I'm a hypocrite here-I KNOW that's my problem!)

4. bonneb

bonneb Fanatic

Oct 24, 2008