Why are you a teacher?

Discussion in 'Teacher Time Out Archives' started by Mable, Oct 3, 2005.

1. Mable

Mable Enthusiast

Oct 3, 2005

Was there an event or a course of events that helped you decide to enter the teaching profession? What was your reason(s) for becoming an educator?

I wanted to be the teacher I never had.

3. kinderkids

kinderkids Virtuoso

Oct 3, 2005

I fell into it but chance. I was a music major at first, and then changed about two years into it. I decided to teach because of a teacher who had such a great impact on my life.......she was awesome and I loved her dearly! Also, my dad has always been very involved in education issues and schools etc. He was the school board president when I graduated from high school. He instilled a love of learning and respect for teachers in all of his children. So, I guess it would be a combination of my favorite teacher and my dad.

4. Danny'sNanny

Danny'sNanny Connoisseur

Oct 3, 2005

I decided when I was five that I wanted to be a kindergarten teacher. I never changed my mind. I love kids, when I am in the classroom I know that this is what I'm supposed to be doing. It's definately something I'm passionate about.

5. Beth2004

Beth2004 Maven

Oct 3, 2005

I had a wonderful fourth grade teacher and I think that may have been when I decided I wanted to be a teacher. My English teacher sophomore year of high school, though is who really helped me make the decision. She was amazing. She did everything she could to keep everyone interested and engaged....she yelled silly things to get people's attention, stood on her desk, reserved the auditorium during our class period so we could act out plays rather than just read them..she was great.
    When I started working at an after school program in 11th grade and then interned in a preschool in 12th, I realized that upper elementary was my favorite age and I decided on elementary ed. as my major in college.

6. sdhudgins

sdhudgins Comrade

Oct 3, 2005