Why are we Miss So & So?

Discussion in 'Preschool' started by msj, Mar 7, 2010.

1. msj

msj Companion

Mar 7, 2010

At my center, everyone is Miss Anne, Miss Jane, Etc. Eventhough most of us are married. So my question is...How many of you go by Miss (Your first name)? What kind of school do you work at? Private, Public, Church, Etc.

I have been thinking about changing this next fall. I'm a professional, and I'm married. I think I should be called Mrs. (Last Name). I teach pre-K. My last name is not hard to say, and the children will be expected to call their K teacher Mrs. So and So. I will be the only person at my center who goes by their last name.

3. MissR

MissR Comrade

Mar 7, 2010

When I taught preschool in a daycare setting, the kids did not use our last names, but I don't think it would be a bad thing. You can't get hung up on Mrs. versus Miss though, because for a lot of kids Mrs. is just harder to say. Now I am in a public school teaching 1st grade and go by Mrs. LastName, but I'd say MOST of the kids just say Miss LastName because it's quicker and easier.

I didn't mind the less formal name in preschool, but if you have the choice, have them call you whatever makes you more comfortable. I don't think the kids will mind one bit! Does your director care either way?

4. halpey1

halpey1 Groupie

Mar 7, 2010

Well, I'm a MISTER and while all the kids in MY class call me Mr. all the kindergarten kids in the rest of the school call me MRS. which always makes me cringe... I just wave back and smile. I think they think Mrs. = teacher. At least I hope that's what they think...

5. amaran20

amaran20 Rookie

Mar 7, 2010

:p haha :p

I don't think many kids really know the difference between Mrs. and Miss. I'm Miss G to my prek kids because my last name is hard to say, but the older kids at my school call me Miss LastName.

6. WhatchaDoin?

WhatchaDoin? Comrade

Mar 7, 2010